The C/C++ Programming languages obsolete?


Recently I have heard opinions of some developers
“There is no big loss that one haven’t programmed in C/C++”
“C is useless now days, there is no point of learning it”

Nothing could more far from the truth.
I would like to point out that I am 28 year old and consider myself young. Despite of this I am glad that I do know C/C++ and have worked extensively with these languages. Knowledge of the C and C++ have given me deep understanding of how computer programming works in general and even now that I do not use them any more I am still applying most of the principles on daily basis.

It is important to understand that every programming language that you know gives you new view of things and affects your way of thinking if you aren’t actually using it. It would be best if every developer knows C, one functional language, one scripting language.

So you are C# or Java developer and you think you do not need C/C++ because they are “useless”
Can you answer following questions:
– In what language is written the operating system that you are using ( be it Windows, Linux, BSD, Solaris)
– In what language is written the C#/Java runtime
What about the database, the web server?
I could go on and on but you I think you see my point.

C/C++ is used in almost everything you use and probably will never be obsolete. Even if you don’t use it you actually NEED to learn it ( and not just C/C++) in order to be a good developer no matter what language you are currently programming in.

Leave a Reply

